New Zealand scores 15 nominations in the shortlist stage of the 2018 Webby Awards

Child_replacement (1)-thumb-400x209-246673.jpgThe International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences (IADAS) has today announced the nominees for the 22nd Annual Webby Awards.

New Zealand has scored 15 nominations in the shortlist.

Leading the pack Colenso BBDO, DDB NZ and Y&R NZ with three nominations each. Colenso BBDO has been shortlisted for Pedigree 'The Child Replacement Programme', DB Export "DB Export Beer Bottle Sand' and New Zealand Breast Cancer Foundation 'The Annoying Lump'. DDB NZ has been shortlisted twice for Netsafe 'Re:scam - the A.I. Bot that Responds to Scam Emails' and once for NZ Herald Re-design. Y&R NZ has been nominated for Heinz 'Geoff' twice and once for RainbowYOUTH 'If It's Not Gay, It's Not Gay'.
Heyday has been shortlisted twice, once for Mitusbishi Motors NZ and once for Garage Project.

Other nominees from New Zealand include Terabyte Interactive for NZ Wine website, Alphero for Radio NZ app, Fairfax NZ for 'Black Hands' and Gladeye for Huffington Post Highline 'FML'.

All nominees are eligible to win the Internet industry's two most prestigious awards: The Webby Award, selected by the Academy, and The Webby People's Voice Award, voted on by Internet fans around the world at Voting for the Webby People's Voice Awards is open now until Thursday, April 19, 2018, at 11:59 PM (PT).

Academy judges including Jimmy Kimmel, Lyft CEO Logan Green, Girls Who Code founder Reshma Saujani, Gimlet Media CEO Alex Blumberg, Instagram's Eva Chen, social entrepreneur Van Jones, Internet inventor Vint Cerf, and Playmatics CEO Margaret Wallace, select the Webby Winners each year.

Says Claire Graves, executive director of The Webby Awards: "We witnessed Webby nominees use the Internet in extraordinary ways this year to break down walls, amplify muted voices, discover untold stories, and capture our attention through new innovations that engaged, surprised, and inspired us. The Webby Awards is honored to recognize the hard work and efforts of our Nominees this year who took creativity, passion, and wonder to new heights and have truly brought out the best in the Internet."

In an era of driverless cars, sophisticated chatbots, and seemingly omnipresent voice assistants like Siri and Alexa, The Webby Awards introduced several new categories this year to honor new developments, cutting-edge capabilities, and groundbreaking innovations across machine learning and AI.

In what was a turbulent year, Webby Nominees addressed a host of complex issues, including sexual harassment, immigration, voting access, equal pay, the opioid crisis, marriage equality, climate change, LGBTQ rights, gun control, and more. Some of the powerful Webby-nominated campaigns that left an indelible mark on the Internet include Fearless Girl, Spotify's I'm With the Banned, The Most German Supermarket, Google Pride's #showup, and The New York Times' The Truth Is.

The Webby Awards shattered records this year, receiving more than 13,000 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide. From the thousands of global entries submitted, fewer than 10% were selected as Nominees. The organizations earning the highest number of nominations this year include: VICE Media (29), Condé Nast (26), National Geographic (22), Google (19), Turner (18), Viacom (15), BBC (14), Disney (12), HBO (11), NBC (10), WNYC (10), Univision (10), Meredith (9), The Washington Post (9), PBS (9), Playdead (7), First Look Media (6), The Guardian (6), Funny or Die (5), Bloomberg (5), Spotify (5), Smithsonian (5), and Blizzard Entertainment (5).

Winners will be announced on Tuesday, April 28, 2018, and celebrated at a star-studded Awards Show hosted by comedian Amber Ruffin on Monday, May 14, 2018, at Cipriani Wall Street. Fans can watch the full Awards Show and all the show highlights, including special performances and hallmark 5-Word Speeches from the night's big Winners, the next morning, on Tuesday, May 15 at and on the Webby Awards video channel.

EY provides vote tabulation consulting for The Webby Awards. For a complete list of nominees and to vote for the People's Voice Awards, please visit

Leave a comment