Colenso BBDO strategy director Belinda Lush joins WARC Media Awards' Best Use of Data jury

BelindaLush.jpgWARC, the global authority on advertising and media effectiveness, has named the final three judging panels for its Media Awards 2018, an international awards scheme that rewards communications planning which has made a positive impact on business results.

Now in its third year, this case study competition examines the insight, strategy and analytics that power effective media investment. All jury panels are made-up of senior industry executives from both the client-side and agency-side.

Belinda Lush (left), group strategy director at Colenso BBDO has been selected to represent New Zealand on the Best Use of Data jury.
The Best Use of Data category recognises the role of data in an effective communications strategy and will be led by Nicole Kane, global media director, McDonald's who oversees the company's global partnerships, strategy, and agency relationships.

Returning as jury chair, Kane says: "I'm excited to chair this group for the second year in a row, as all of us are working to understand how we can better use data to fuel insights. Based on the high calibre, and wide range of experience of my fellow judges, I anticipate great debate on this year's award submissions."

The Effective Use of Tech category rewards communications that have effectively used or combined emerging platforms or technology in the media mix. This year, it will be chaired by Andres Polo, vice president, digital marketing, Visa, Latin America and the Caribbean Region. Polo is responsible for driving the evolution of global consumer digital, social media and mobile strategies.

The Effective Use of Partnerships & Sponsorships category looks for how collaborations with third parties, including native advertising and sponsorships, have helped brands meet business goals. It will be chaired by Jerry Daykin, head of global digital media partnerships, Diageo.

Says Daykin: "For me the WARC Media Awards strike an important balance of truly celebrating the rich creative possibilities of media, but doing so with a clear view to how that creativity is driving effectiveness and business results."

The jury members are:

Best use of data jury
Nicole Kane - Global Media Director, McDonald's - jury chair
Marco Bertozzi - VP of Sales Europe, Spotify
Lars Bjørge - EVP, Head of Acquisition, TBWA\Asia
Youmna Borghol - Head of Data, Choueiri Group
Nnamdi David - Media Strategy Director, MullenLowe Mediahub
Paul de la Nougerede - Commercial Product Director, Telegraph Media Group
Ian Forrester - Global SVP of Insight and Solutions, Unruly
Saskia Jones - Data Strategy Director, BBH London
Rachel Kennedy - Professor of Marketing Science and Associate Director (Product Development), Ehrenberg-Bass Institute
Belinda Lush - Group Strategy Director, Colenso BBDO
Nikki Mendonça - Global President, Accenture Interactive Operations
Nick Pugh - Head of Effectiveness, Ebiquity
Ollie Shayer - Manager, Global Media Strategy and Planning Team,
Charli Ursell - Senior Director of Digital Planning & Data, PHD UAE

Effective use of tech jury
Andres Polo - VP, Digital Marketing, Visa, Latin America & Caribbean Region - jury chair
Winston Binch - Chief Digital Officer, Deutsch North America
Bohb Blair - Global Chief Experience Officer, Starcom
Andrea Chiapponi - Chief Commercial Officer B.U. Large Accounts, Italiaonline
Matthias Eylers - Strategy Director & Partner, +KNAUSS
Michael Lee - Chief Strategy Officer, VCCP
Helen Lin - President, Digital Investment & Global Partnerships, Publicis Media
Allan McLoughlinm - Chief Strategy Officer, Mekanism
Matt Prentis - Group Innovation Director, PHD Global Business
Ben Sutherland - Chief Digital Officer, Diageo
Jeremy Sy - Partner, Southeast Asia & Global Practice Lead, Innovation, Kantar Consulting
Stephen Tompkins - Vice President, Media Activation, APAC, Essence
Sonja Wessel - Senior Manager of International Market Communications, Deutsche Telekom

Effective use of partnerships & sponsorships jury
Jerry Daykin - Head of Global Digital Media Partnerships, Diageo - jury chair
Laurel Boyd - SVP and Director of the R+D Lab, MullenLowe Mediahub
Nick Burcher - Director of Digital, MediaCom
Garry Dods - Founder & MD, WeAreFearless
Samantha L. Fay - Senior Vice President, Global Brand Strategy, Guinness World Records
Rhian Mason - Content Strategy Director, IPG Mediabrands
Hannah Mirza - Global Head of Partnerships, MediaCom
David Robertson - Senior Director, Global Brand Insight, Universal Music Group
Simon Sassine - Senior Manager, Marketing Subsidiaries & Special Projects, Qatar Airways Connections Strategy Director, Huge
Leigh Thomas - Director, Global Accounts Team, Facebook
Dallas Wiles - Chief Commercial Officer, JCDecaux

Full biographies are available here alongside the Effective Channel Integration jury, which has already been announced.
The WARC Media Awards are free to enter and are discipline-neutral and channel-agnostic. Papers submitted as effectiveness case studies are welcomed from any territory and communications discipline.

The winners of the Grands Prix and Special Awards across all four categories of WARC's Media Awards - Effective Channel Integration, Effective Use of Tech, Best Use of Data, and Effective Use of Partnerships & Sponsorships - will share a prize fund of $40,000.

The closing date for entries is 19 September 2018. More information and details about how to enter can be found here.

Leave a comment